top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKara Tess

Young Democrats of Clark County Questionnaire

1. What is your vision for the economic development of your city?


Everyone wants the best for their city, and I would love to see Vancouver

thriving, however this is not a simple question.

I would like to see a living wage paid to every full time worker. The bigger

question is: HOW can this be done? I believe we are on the right track. Minimum

wage increases are creating better sources of income for many. This is just one

step for economic development.

It may be an unpopular opinion, but I do not support expansion of fossil fuels.

While things like pipelines and other expansion projects do support some

economic development in the short term, they are also doing it at a cost to our

environment. While there are no plans for pipelines in Vancouver, I will continue

to not support any plan or project that may have damaging effects on our

environment.

I am a huge advocate for the homeless. I create my own care packages with

basic essential items (toothbrush/paste, soap, deodorant, feminime hygiene,

water, and a few snacks) and hand them out anytime I drive by someone in

need. I know the problem runs much deeper than a one-time care package can

solve. I will always advocate for better mental health and addiction services.

Helping get to the root cause of anyone who is homeless will help them get back

on their feet and out into the workforce.


2. How would you engage local communities in city government?

Awareness. I cannot tell you how many times I have talked to my friends, family,

customers, or clients - and they are unaware of some of the issues we are facing.

Encouraging people to get involved, and vote - with the actual facts of the issue

would be my main goal.


3. What can the city do to better serve underrepresented populations?


Represent them! (That was the easy answer).

The goal would be to understand what or why they are currently unrepresented. I

would reach out, listen to them, and vote for a way that supports everyone.

When the fireworks ban was voted on, it was done quietly and without hearing

the opinion of the people. This vote was based solely on the personal options of

the elected. To me, being elected means I support and vote for the people, and

listen before I decide on what is fair and right.


4. How will you meaningfully include the voices of young people in the

political process during your campaign and while in office?

Young people are the way of the future. In less than 30 years, a vast majority of

the voting population will be Gen Y (Millennials) and Gen Z (Zoomers). As many

more young people become eligible to vote, I expect to see some dramatic

changes. I respect all opinions, however I feel that younger people are dismissed

too often, and I would like the opportunity to be a voice for them.

I would encourage young people to vote, and I would encourage them to stand

up for injustices. Most importantly, I would listen. I do not accept donations, and

cannot be bought for any cause.

I would consider myself “young”(Millennial), and I hope to see more young

people running for office in the future, regardless of the outcome of this election.


5. You may take this opportunity to provide a closing statement on why

you feel the Young Democrats of Clark County should support you.

I will always stand up for what is right and fair. I believe this is what the

Democratic party is about. I cannot be bought, and I will always support fair and

legal legislation. As I have stated numerous times, to the point of redundancy, I

will not vote based off my sole opinion. I believe as a representative, my job will

be to support the people, not my own agenda. I am willing to listen and learn

about other's points of view, and I will always do my research before voting on

any matter.

Thank you for reaching out, and taking your time to read this. I know other

candidates may have more experience and more wordy answers, but I speak

from the heart and what I truly feel is right.

153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Answers to Mainstreet Republicans

Mainstreet Republicans 1) How do your issues and values align with the issues and values of the Mainstream Republicans? Please make sure you address the values stated on the Mainstream Republican Web

The No Fossil Fuel Money Pledge

I pledge not to take any contributions from oil, gas, and coal industry executives, lobbyists, or PACs and instead prioritize the health of our families, climate, and democracy over fossil fuel indust

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page